Do you live down south in the state of Arkansas? If so, do you know your car seat laws for the state? Car seat laws are extremely important to follow simply because they can increase the safety of your child, avoid traffic violations, and you can avoid getting fines if you do follow the laws.
Be aware that car seat laws for states in the U.S. vary, so it’s important to know your particular state’s car seat laws.
Arkansas Car Seat Laws:
- Your baby must remain in a car seat if they are 5 years or younger and less than 60 lbs.
- They must also wear an adult safety belt if they are between the ages of 6-14 and are less than 60 lbs.
- If you fail to follow these laws, it can result in a fine that is $100.
- It is always best to keep your baby in the rear-facing position until they’ve reached 20 lbs and are one year of age. This will allow their neck time to develop and strengthen.
- Always make sure that you keep in mind the requirements for your child’s car seat. If your child has exceeded the weight and height (which can happen pretty quickly), you must replace the seat with one that is suitable for them.
- Never buy a car seat that was previously owned. This is important because you don’t know the history of it, if it’s been recalled or even if it’s been in an accident. It may be tempting because you can find them for a cheaper price, but it’s just not worth risking your child’s safety.
If you have additional car seat questions, check here for a list of our FAQs. Didn’t find your question answered on that page? Drop us an e-mail at admin[at]findmycarseat[dot]com.
This is just a brief summary of Arkansas’ car seat laws. Keep in mind that they may change over time, and that it’s up to you to keep up with this information.