Whether you’re vacationing in the state of Hawaii, or you actually live in this paradise state, it is important that you know the car seat laws for the state. Car seat laws vary from state to state, and can be different in each one, therefore it’s important that you know the laws for the actual state you live in.
So, if you live or are visiting in the beautiful state of Hawaii, here are the car seats laws you need to follow:
Hawaii Car Seat Laws:
- If your child is 3 years or younger, they must remain in a child car seat.
- If your child is between the ages of 4-7, they must remain in a booster car seat, or some type of car seat that fits them properly.
- Also, if your child is between the ages of 4-7, and are taller than 4’9″, and weigh at least 40 lbs, they must be seated in the rear seat and must be wearing a seat belt or at least lap belt.
- If you fail to follow these laws, it may result in a fine of up to $100 for the first offense.
- It’s always best to keep your baby rear-facing for as long as possible. This will allow their neck time to develop.
- You should also never buy a car seat that has been used by someone else. You never know the actual history, so it’s never safe to consider this option.
- Always make sure your child properly fits in their car seat. Once they have grown past the weight and height, make sure you upgrade them as soon as possible.
If you have additional car seat questions, check out our FAQs here!
This is just a brief summary of Hawaii’s car seat laws. Keep in mind they may change over time, therefore it’s your responsibility to always make sure you keep up with this information.