Once we have a baby, their safety should always come first. This is especially true when it comes to riding in the car with them. The everyday road is dangerous as it is, so it’s important to do whatever you can do enhance the safety of you and your child.
If you live in the state of Indiana, you may want to look at your state’s car seat laws so that you’re familiar with them, can protect your child and so that you can avoid any traffic violations.
Indiana Car Seat Laws:
- Your child must remain in a car seat or booster seat until the age of at least 7 years old.
- An adult safety belt is also permissable for the ages of 8-15 years old.
- As of now, there is no law indicating how old your child has to be to stay in the back seat of the car.
- It is a good idea to keep your baby rear-facing until they’re at least one year of age AND 20 lbs. This will allow their neck time to fully develop and strengthen.
- It’s also a good idea to always wear your selt belt regardless of your age. It may not always be required, but it can save a life!
- The back seat of the car is usually the safest place for children, specifically because of air bags.
Indiana’s car seat laws are pretty basic and easy to follow. So, keep your child safe and avoid getting tickets by simply following the rules.
This is just a brief summary of Indiana’s car seat laws. Car seat laws may change over time, therefore it is important to keep yourself updated on this important information. If you have further car seat questions, you may be able to find them here. If not, feel free to contact us at admin [at] findmycarseat [dot] com.