As a parent, it is always important that you protect your child whenever possible. Between keeping your home safe and baby proofed, and keeping your child safe on the road, you’re providing additional safety to them.
Car seat laws vary from state to state, therefore it is important that you know the laws for the actual state you live in. So, if you live in the state of Maryland, we’re going to make it easier by providing you with your state’s laws below.
Maryland Car Seat Laws:
- If your child is younger than 7 years old, and is less than 57″ and 65 lbs, they must remain in a car seat.
- They must also wear a safety belt through the ages of 8-15, and until they reach 65 lbs and 57″.
- If you don’t follow these laws, it may result in a fine that is $25 for the first offense.
- You should always keep your baby rear-facing for as long as possible. A good time to turn them around is when they are one year old and 20 lbs.
- Once your child has exceeded the weight or height limit for their car seat, they must be upgrade to the next level as soon as possible.
- It is never ok to buy a car seat that was “used”. Since you don’t know if it’s been in an accident, if it was recalled or if it’s expired, it should never even be considered. You can buy used baby items, but a car seat is one of the few you can’t buy used.
Have additional car seat questions? Be sure to check out our FAQs here! Also, if we didn’t answer your question on that page, drop us an e-mail at: admin[at]findmycarseat[dot]com.
This is just a brief summary for Maryland’s car seat laws. Car seat laws can change over time, therefore it is your responsibility as a parent to keep an eye out for this important information.