If you live in the state of New Jersey and have children, do you know the car laws for that state? If not, it is best that you familiarize yourself with them! If you don’t know your state’s car seat laws, you’re not keeping your child as safe as possible, you’re putting yourself at risk for fines, and you’re also increasing your chances of a traffic violation.
Since every state in the U.S. varies for their car seat laws, it is very important you learn the laws for the state you live in. To find out car seat laws for New Jersey, continue reading below.
New Jersey Car Seat Laws:
- If your child is 7 years or younger, and weighs less than 80 lbs, they must remain in a car seat that properly suits their weight and height.
- Your child must also remain in the back seat of the car (if it’s available) if they are less than 7 years old and weigh less than 80 lbs.
- If you don’t follow these laws, it may result in a $25 fine for the first offense.
- It’s always a good idea to keep your baby rear-facing for as long as possible. They should really stay in the rear-facing position until they’ve reached 20 lbs AND one year of age.
- If your child has exceeded their weight and height limits, they need to be upgraded to the next level as soon as possible.
- You should never buy a car seat that has been used by someone else. Since you don’t know if it’s expired, has been recalled, or if it’s been in an accident, it is never a good idea, even if it can save you a couple bucks.
This is just a brief summary for New Jersey’s car seat laws. Keep in mind they may change over time, therefore it is a good idea to check them frequently.