When we have a baby, there are a lot of things we need to familiarize ourselves with. Between learning safety precautions around the house through house proofing, and learning all about car seats for the first time, we’ve definitely gained a lot of important information in a short amount of time.
One thing you don’t want to go without knowing is your state’s car seat laws. Because of the fact that you can get a traffic violation, a fine and endanger your child, you want to make sure you know these laws like the back of your hand. So, if you live in the state of Tennessee, be sure to continue reading below.
Tennessee Car Seat Laws:
- If your baby is 20 lbs or less, and is younger than a year old, they must be in the rear-facing position! This will allow their neck time to develop and strengthen. They must meet both requirements to be turned to forward-facing.
- They also must be in a forward-facing seat between the ages of 1-3.
- When they are 4-8 years old, they must be in a booster or car seat that fits their requirements.
- Adult safety belts are permissible for children aged 9-15 years.
- Your child must also sit in the back seat of the car (if it’s available) if they are 8 years or younger and less than 4’9″.
Have additional questions? If so, check out these frequently asked car seat questions!
Tennessee has quite a few laws you want to make sure you’re familiar with. As always, you should make sure your child still properly fits in their car seat, and meets the requirements. If they have outgrown it due to their height and/or weight, it is crucial that you upgrade to the next stage.
This is just a brief summary of Tennessee’s car seat laws. Keep in mind that car seat laws may change overtime, therefore it is important you keep yourself up to date with this important information.